skip navigation

Steel FC extend unbeaten streak to five matches with win over Montreal

By Matt Bodiford, 05/15/16, 9:45PM EDT


Bethlehem Steel FC defeated FC Montreal 2-1 Sunday afternoon in front of 2,871 fans at Goodman Stadium. Steel FC improved to 3-2-3 in their 2016 inaugural season. Bethlehem has now recorded a point in five-consecutive matches.   

Bethlehem created a tremendous amount of pressure to open the match. Despite Montreal being under constant attack, David Choiniere got them on the board first in the 26th minute of play. Choiniere took a risk from just outside the box and was able to curl it inside the post, beating Matt Jones. 

Steel FC continued their relentless pressure throughout the match. The club forced the issue by drawing a penalty in the box. Leo Fernandes fought his way to the near post and was grabbed by Montreal keeper James Pantemis, leaving the referee no choice but to call a foul. Captain Ryan Richter stepped up and drilled the kick to tie the match in the 78th minute. 

It was déjà vu for Montreal moments later as Corey Burke worked his way into the box and earned a penalty for Bethlehem. This time Derrick Jones sealed the deal and gave Steel FC the lead in the 84th minute of play. 

Montreal gave a final push in stoppage and almost recorded the equalizer. Bethlehem keeper Matt Jones made a fantastic reaction save to his left to secure the victory for Steel FC. 

Bethlehem Steel FC returns to action next Sunday when they travel to Harrisburg City as they take on the Islanders. Kick is scheduled for 6 p.m. and will be broadcasted on the USL official YouTube channel. Single game and group tickets are available by visiting or by calling 844-STEELFC 

Bethlehem Steel FC 2, FC Montreal 1, 
Goodman Stadium
Bethlehem, PA

Shots: 16-9 Steel FC
Shots on Target: 7-2 Steel FC
Fouls: 13-13 Steel FC
Corners: 8-2

MON – David Choiniere 26’
BSFC – Ryan Richter (PEN) 78’
BCFC – Derrick Jones (PEN) 84’

MON – Simon Lemire (yellow) 38’
MON – Jean Ballou Tabla (yellow) 50’
MON – James Pantemis (yellow) 69’
MON – Kyle Fisher (yellow) 75’

Matt Jones; Ryan Richter ©, Mickey Daly, Auston Trusty, Taylor Washington; James Chambers, Derrick Jones, Boluwatife Akinyode (Taylor-Parkes 71); Seku Conneh (Burke 78), Cole Missimo (Gissie 67), Leo Fernandes (Fred 90)
Substitutes not used: Samir Badr, Nick Bibbs, Jamie Luchini

James Pantemis; Simon Lemire (Zachary Sukunda 88’), Kyle Fisher*, Thomas Meilleur-Giguère, Janouk Charbonneau; Marco Dominguez (Heikel Jarras 88’), Mastanabal Kacher (Nevello Yoseke 78’), Alessandro Riggi (Philippe Lincourt-Joseph 60’), Ballou Jean-Yves Tabla, David Choinière; Fabio Morelli

Substitutes not used: David Paulmin, Jems Geffrard